And the Hits Keep Coming

I woke up this morning excited to go to work as I do every day. I work for a Talent Agent. It is an exciting field to be in. You get to learn all about the casting process and the differences between auditioning for commercial, film, and television. My job is the development of the child talent. Helping with resumes, head shots, and of course, training. If you want to be an actor, you have to have training. Yes, some actors have lucked out and been plucked from obscurity to become famous over night. BUT, they all have training. If you train for theater, that’s great. But film and television are different from theater and the same techniques do not apply. I love my job, I love my office, I love the people I work with….and today, I was let go.

It had nothing to do with me, it’s business. My sales for the acting classes weren’t where they needed to be. I got it. It hurt, it hurt like hell, but I got it. I packed up my office and went to say goodbye to the owner. How fortuitous that decision would be. In a matter of an hour, I went from being unemployed, to being rehired by the same agency but in a different position. One that allows me to put my training and skills to good use.

It’s funny, when it first happened, I didn’t question it. I didn’t say poor me or why me. I didn’t curse God and ask him why I was being punished. I just cried, I cried because I was a part of a family. I cried because I love these people so much and the thought of not seeing them every day positively broke my heart. Then, in an instant, the tears of sadness turned into tears of joy. Never question the universe and what it has in store for you. Everything does indeed happen for a reason.

Leave a Reply

